Max Rady College of Medicine

Term: Service Type - In Hospital

Printer friendly

Glossary Definition

Last Updated: 2013-10-04


A categorization of inpatient hospitalizations into different Service Types based on several criteria. In Fransoo et al. (2013), a multi-step process was used to group inpatient hospitalizations into nine Service Type categories based on age, Most Responsible Diagnosis, Patient Service Codes, the Case Mix Group (CMG™) system, and Major Clinical Categories (MCC). The nine categories include:

  1. Coded ALC (Alternate Level of Care)
  2. Possible ALC (Alternate Level of Care)
  3. Live Birth Service type
  4. Medical Service Type
  5. Surgical Service Type
  6. Palliative Service Type
  7. Pregnancy and Birth Service Type
  8. Mental Disorder Service Type, and
  9. Ungroupable CMG™

Related concepts 

Related terms 


  • Fransoo R, Martens P, The Need to Know Team, Prior H, Burchill C, Koseva I, Rajotte L. Who is in our Hospitals.and why? Winnipeg, MB: Manitoba Centre for Health Policy, 2013. [Report] [Summary] [Additional Materials] (View)

Contact us

Manitoba Centre for Health Policy
Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine,
Rady Faculty of Health Sciences,
Room 408-727 McDermot Ave.
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB R3E 3P5 Canada