Term: Level of Care (LOC) - In Personal Care Homes (PCH)

Glossary Definition

Last Updated: 2011-02-22


A classification system for PCH residents used to define the extent of their dependence, and to approximate the amount of daily nursing care they may require. All nursing home (PCH) residents are assessed at one of four levels of care based on the Dependency Assessment Supplement (DAS). This asseses the residents' abilities to complete ADL tasks, on their need for professional interventions, and their degree of behavioral problems. This leads to a determination of the number of nursing hours they require per day. Level 1 is the lightest at 0.5 hours, level 2 at 2 hours, with levels 3 and 4 at least 3.5 hours, with level 4 being the most dependent and/or requiring the most nursing care.

Related concepts 

Related terms 


Term used in